What does this error mean?
Type the alert, error code or describe the symbol you see. Osnivo shows what Apple says it means and what Apple says to do — word for word, with the source.
-
Alert
"Unable to Check for Update" or "Unable to Download"
Unable to Check for Update. An error occurred while checking for a software update.
If you try to update your device, you might see one of these alerts:
-
Alert
"Face ID has been disabled"
A problem was detected with the TrueDepth Camera. Face ID has been disabled.
Using diagnostics available in iOS 14.6 or later, Apple has detected an issue with your TrueDepth camera that might cause it to not function as expected. The TrueDepth camera contains lasers, which might be disabled for safety reasons if the device malfunctions or is damaged.
-
Alert
Not enough iCloud storage to back up
If an alert says that there's not enough iCloud storage
-
Alert
Last iCloud backup couldn't be completed
If a message says that your last backup couldn't be completed
-
Alert
"Currently being restored" — iCloud Backup grayed out
This [device] is currently being restored and will automatically back up when it is done.
Check if a restore is still in progress. Open the Settings app, tap your name, tap iCloud, then tap iCloud Backup. If your device is still being restored, you see “This [device] is currently being restored and will automatically back up when it is done.” You can create a new backup after your device finishes restoring.
-
Alert
Apple Account "disabled for security reasons"
This Apple Account has been disabled for security reasons
If you see one of the following messages, your Apple Account locked automatically to protect your security and you can’t sign in and use any Apple services:
-
Alert
Apple Account "locked" or "not active"
This Apple Account is locked and can’t be used
If you see a message that says your Apple Account is locked or not active, you might be able to request access to your account by tapping Request Access right from the alert.
-
Alert
"Your Media & Purchases account has been disabled"
Your Media & Purchases account has been disabled
If you see a message that says “Your Media & Purchases account has been disabled,” you might be able to request reactivation by tapping Continue right from the alert.
-
Alert
"Charging On Hold"
Charging On Hold. Charging will resume when [device] returns to normal temperature
If the Lock Screen shows the message "Charging On Hold. Charging will resume when [device] returns to normal temperature," the device is temporarily too hot or too cold to charge.
-
Alert
"Temperature: iPhone needs to cool down"
Temperature: iPhone needs to cool down.
If your device exceeds a certain temperature threshold, it will present a temperature warning screen similar to this:
-
Alert
"Restore Paused" while restoring from iCloud
Restore Paused. Restoring from iCloud will resume when this [device] cools down.
If your device exceeds a certain temperature threshold while restoring from an iCloud backup, your restore might pause temporarily.
-
Alert
"Billing problem with a previous purchase" or "verification required"
billing problem with a previous purchase
If you see a message that says 'billing problem with a previous purchase' or 'verification required,' you have an unpaid balance. Apple couldn't charge your payment method for a previous purchase. Until you pay your balance, you might be unable to:
Every meaning and step is quoted from an Apple Support article; Osnivo writes only the titles. Errors often come with a step-by-step fix in Osnivo Fix.