Skip to content
Emergency

I deleted something important

Apple: “If you accidentally deleted a photo or video, you can recover it within 30 days in the Recently Deleted album.”

Something else happened · iPhone iPad Mac Vision

Do this first

Photos and videos: check Recently Deleted

  • When you delete a photo or video, it goes to the Recently Deleted album. Anything in your Recently Deleted album stays there for 30 days. After 30 days, it's permanently deleted and you can't get it back.
  • On your iPhone or iPad
  • Open the Photos app, swipe up, then tap Recently Deleted in the Utilities section.
  • Tap View Album, then use Face ID or Touch ID to unlock your Recently Deleted album.
  • Tap a photo or video, then tap Recover. To recover multiple photos, tap Select, select your photos or videos, tap the More button, then tap Recover.
  • Confirm that you want to recover the photos or videos.
  • On your Mac
  • In macOS Ventura or later, open Photos and select Recently Deleted in the Utilities section of the sidebar.
  • Use Touch ID or your login password to unlock your Recently Deleted album.
  • Click the photo or video.
  • Click Recover.
  • On iCloud.com
  • Go to iCloud.com, then sign in to your Apple Account.
  • Tap or click Photos.
  • Select Recently Deleted in the sidebar. If you don’t see the sidebar, tap or click the Show Sidebar button in the upper-left corner.
  • Select a photo, then tap or click Recover.
  • On your Apple Vision Pro
  • Open Photos, then tap Collections in the sidebar.
  • Scroll down and tap Recently Deleted in the Utilities section.
  • Tap View Album, then use Optic ID or your passcode to unlock your Recently Deleted album.
  • Tap and hold a photo or video, then tap Recover. To recover multiple photos, tap Select, select your photos or videos, tap the Recover button.

Apple: How to recover deleted photos on your iPhone, iPad, Mac, or Apple Vision Pro ↗

Then

  1. 1 Files: recover them on iCloud.com

    Apple: “Don’t make changes to iCloud Drive data during recovery. Editing or deleting files might interrupt the process.”

    • On iCloud.com, you can recover files deleted from both iCloud Drive and other apps within the last 30 days, whether you deleted them on iCloud.com or another device that has iCloud Drive turned on. However, you can’t recover or restore files you permanently remove.
    • Recover files deleted from iCloud Drive or iWork apps
    • Go to icloud.com/iclouddrive, then sign in to your Apple Account (if necessary).
    • Select Recently Deleted in the sidebar.
    • Recover some items: Select each file you want to recover, then select Recover.
    • Recover all items: Select Recover All.
    • Recover files deleted from other apps
    • Go to icloud.com/recovery, then sign in to your Apple Account (if necessary).
    • Select Restore Files.
    • Select each file you want to restore, or select Select All.
    • Select Restore Files.
    • Look for your recovered files in the folders they were in when you deleted them. For example, if a file was in the Pages folder when you deleted it, look for the recovered file in the Pages folder.

    Apple: Recover deleted files on iCloud.com (iCloud User Guide) ↗

  2. 2 Messages: check Recently Deleted iOS 16, iPadOS 16.1 or later

    Apple: “You can only recover messages and conversations that you deleted within the last 30 to 40 days. If you delete a message before you update to iOS 16, iPadOS 16, or later, you can't recover that message.”

    • In Messages, tap the Filters button on the conversations page. If you use iOS 18, tap Edit on the conversations page.
    • Tap Recently Deleted.
    • Choose the conversations with the messages you want to restore, then tap Recover.
    • Tap Recover Message or Recover [Number] Messages.

    Apple: Recover deleted text messages on your iPhone or iPad ↗

  3. 3 Notes: check Recently Deleted

    • When you delete a note, it’s kept in the Recently Deleted folder for 30 days before being permanently removed from your iPhone, iCloud, and other devices where you’re signed in to your Apple Account.
    • Go to the Notes app on your iPhone.
    • In the folder list, tap Recently Deleted.
    • If you don’t see Recently Deleted, you don’t have any notes in that folder, and there’s nothing to be recovered.
    • Recover a note: Swipe left on the note, then tap Move. Move the note to a new or existing folder.

    Apple: Delete and recover notes in Notes on iPhone (iPhone User Guide) ↗

  4. 4 Notes kept in Gmail, Yahoo or another account

    • If you use notes with another service, like Gmail or Yahoo, check the Trash folder of that account in the Mail app. If you delete a note from the Notes app, your third-party account will usually keep it in the Trash folder. To recover a note from the Trash folder, you need to copy and paste the note to a new note in the Notes app.
    • In the Settings app, tap Apps.
    • Tap Notes.
    • Tap Notes Accounts, then tap the account that you want to check.
    • Make sure that Notes is on.

    Apple: If you're missing notes on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch ↗

Also on Osnivo